Crepes that are actually like… Crepes!

It’s been awhile since I “experimented” with my IP food. I’ve been kind of on autopilot as we try to finish our first home purchase – very exciting, but plenty stressful. And chaotic. (At this point, I’m seriously considering keeping out a few frying pans, packing everything else up, and eating off paper plates!!!) However…

waldenstrawberryI purchased Walden Farms Strawberry Fruit Spread a few weeks a go on a whim. I’d been looking at it off and on for awhile.

Know this: Walden Farms is not a magical company. You can not take a product that is typically 50 calories per tablespoon, turn it into a zero calorie product, and go, “WOW, THEY TASTE THE SAME!” Never going to happen. Don’t live in that dream world, folks. you’ll only be disappointed. With that said, this product is not terrible. It probably tastes more or less “strawberry flavored,” although I think it does mention something about real strawberry something in the nutritional information/ingredients list. It does not quite have a jelly consistency, more like… well it’s like a jelly and Jell-O hybrid.

I had an idea that it may make a good “filling” for the Plain Crepe. Here’s what you need:

  • Mixing bowl and whisk (I think making the “bread-like” ice cream
  • 1 Ideal Protein Plain Crepe Packet
  • 4 oz. water
  • up to 1 oz of Sugar Free Vanilla syrup (such as Torani’s)
  • 1 – 2 Tbsp. of  Walden Farms Strawberry Fruit Spread
  1. Grease up a frying pan with a bit of Olive Oil (remember your daily portions/allowances).
  2. In a bowl, mix the plain crepe mix with about 4 oz. of water, and a little bit of Sugar Free Vanilla Syrup. This does two things: it sweetens up the crepe itself, and adds a nice vanilla flavor, giving it more of a “home-baked” taste.
  3. Cook the crepe on the stove according to manufacturer directions.
    * Tips: I like to get the first side get nice and crispy. One trick I use to tell if it’s ready to be flipped is to wiggle the pan a bit. Sometimes you get lucky and the crepe starts to move around. Usually you have to wiggle a spatula under the crepe and flip. I let the second side cook for less time than the first; it’s going to make the final step easier. Cooked through, but not crispy.
  4. Lay your crepe on a plate, softer side up. Put 1 – 2 tablespoons of Strawberry Fruit Spread down the middle of your crepe. It does not “spread” so much as it “squishes,” so squish it around until you have it going from one side to the other.
    * Tips: There is no sugar/sugar alcohol in this product, so I wouldn’t be too concerned by your serving amount, other than it’s never great to eat too many artificial sweeteners.
  5. Roll your crepe, TIGHTLY, so that your filling will go from end to end when rolled up. Don’t worry that you don’t have “fruit” spread throughout the whole crepe, it will be just great.
  6. Get yourself a cup of tea or coffee (or one of your 8 glasses of water a day!) and enjoy!
3 thoughts on “Crepes that are actually like… Crepes!

  1. I was referred to your recipe by Ideal Protein – Lohja, Finland, I am not able to make the crepes to look or taste like crepes. The only thing I can come up with is that maybe I am using too small of a pan. May I ask, how large of a pan do you use to cook the crepes? Also, are you using the entire portion of the mix to make one single crepe or several? I make them once and it was awful but I used a small fry pan (8″) or so and used the entire packet for one crepe. I am assuming I am doing something wrong. I would appreciate any suggestions you have! Thank you!

    • Tera – first of all, my apologies for the delay in reply! I have not gotten too much feedback on this blog, so I didn’t realize I had a comment!

      These are my “Crepe Making Tips:”
      1) Not too much, nor too little liquid. I don’t have a packet handy (didn’t order any this week!), but from memory, I think it recommends 3.5-5 oz of water. I use about 4-4.5 oz. Make sure that the powder and liquid are blended very, very well. I do not use the blender bottle for this, I think it’s too hard to get the batter out. I use a bowl and a whisk.
      2) I actually like about a 10 inch pan. I do make ONE crepe. I pour the batter in the center of the pan, and then use a rubber scraper to slowly spread it out towards the edges. This is one of the secrets – spreading it out by hand. If you don’t, you’ll end up with a thick middle which is… gross. LOL
      3) Temperature/heat level. You do not want your heat up too high… I’d say Medium is best. Let the pan heat up over Medium heat for about 5 minutes before adding the batter, that way you get a nice even temp on your pan.
      4) You mentioned hardness. I actually like it to get a little golden myself, maybe even a little bit “toasted” in texture. If you don’t cook these long enough, they taste raw.
      5) Expectations: these are not regular crepes. They will not be super thin like French crepes, and they will not have that odd, somewhat boingy/rubbery texture that true crepes have. I wish they would just call these pancakes, which is really more of a true description.

  2. Can you tell me a little more about the crepes. I have made them according to the directions but I still must be doing something wrong. Does the box make several small crepes or one small thick crepe. I used a small fry pan and the crepe turned out very thick and hard. Should I have used a large pan or used smaller amounts in the small pan? Please help! Any suggestions would be great!

Leave a Reply

